And now for something COMPLETELY different…

I probably spend WAAAY too much time at my home page on the interwebz tubez, but today there was a post with a title about having no regrets.  I’m old enough to remember Edith Piaf, and I’m afraid that some of you young ones aren’t.  She was a tiny, magical thing.  Here’s a small introduction to her, and I would encourage you to find more:

Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien (the start of my remembering, because of the title of the post at Firedoglake), from 1962 when I was a senior in high school.

Milord (followed by a standing ovation that goes on forever)

La Vie En Rose (live, seemingly at a supper club?)

That’s only 3 songs from this tiny, magical chaunteuse.  And if anyone ever tries to tell me that Judy Collins or Joni Mitchell or Gordon Lightfoot or James Taylor didn’t learn from her I’ll call you a liar.

Wow.  That’s weird!  The first-ever post after (I’m not making this up, you know…) 1234 about shit from the NYT is about Piaf.  Well, maybe not so strange.  Music is extremely important to me, having been raised by a musician.  More Times folks tomorrow morning, but I just got all caught up in Piaf this evening.  I hope you like her as much as I do.

One Response to “And now for something COMPLETELY different…”

  1. oregondave Says:

    Hey. Yeah, I’m old enough, too. When I was too young and very callow, I told a would-be girl friend, when she asked what I thought of Piaf, that I didn’t also think she was the greatest. End of that possible relationship, before it started.

    Ah, but I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now.

    P.S. (I don’t get the 1234).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

